World Cup Golden Boot race: Goncalo Ramos joins Saka and Messi on three as Mbappe leads | The World Cup Golden Boot is a highly sought after prize for football's elite.

World Cup Golden Boot race: Goncalo Ramos joins Saka and Messi on three as Mbappe leads

World Cup Golden Boot race: Goncalo Ramos joins Saka and Messi on three as Mbappe leads

  • By:
  • Views 0

Chelsea flop Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang could be offered way out by Will Ferrell's LAFC

Cristiano Ronaldo making life 'difficult' for Al-Nassr team-mates after contract U-turn

Christian Atsu still yet to be found in Turkey earthquake rubble as search continues

FIFA's Gianni Infantino issues statement on Turkey earthquake amid Christian Atsu concerns
Chelsea respond with Christian Atsu still 'missing under rubble' after Turkey earthquake
World Cup: A look at Qatar’s fan accommodation#jw-preview-hbHmuyij.jw-preview{background-image:url('')} SUBSCRIBE Invalid email

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you've consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

The race for the Golden Boot is likely to be hotly contested with , and likely to be among the front runners. 

Related articles Bukayo Saka's impressive response as England crush Iran at World Cup Harry Kane injury concern for England as star seen with strapping

Three Lions captain Kane is the current holder of the award after scoring six goals in Russia. Mbappe and Ronaldo were second after finding the net on four occasions, along with Denis Cheryshev, Antonine Griezmann and Romelu Lukaku. The Tottenham star could make history in Qatar by becoming the first player ever to claim the accolade twice. 

However, he will face competition from the likes of Ronaldo and Mbappe, with Lionel Messi, Lautaro Martinez and Neymar also among the bookies' favourites. Most are yet to get their quest for the golden boot underway with Argentina and France playing their first matches against Saudi Arabia and Australia respectively later today. 

Frenchman Just Fontaine holds the record for the number of goals scored in a single competition after finding the net an impressive 13 times during the 1958 World Cup in Sweden. Hungarian Sandor Kocsis with 11 and German legend Gerd Muller with 10 just behind the forward with those competing in Qatar dreaming of equalising their number. 

BBC presenter  is the only Englishman to have won the golden boot other than Kane, scoring six times in Mexico in 1986. Saka is in pole position to join him after two goals against Iran, with Valencia and Taremi both joining him on that number. 


World Cup stars will compete for the Golden Boot with Kane, Ronaldo and Mbappe among favourites. (Image: GETTY)

Current race for the Golden Boot 

Kylian Mbappe (France) 5

Enner Valencia (Ecuador) 3

Cody Gakpo (Netherlands) 3

Marcus Rashford (England) 3

Goncalo Ramos (Portugal) 3

Alvaro Morata (Spain) 3

Lionel Messi (Argentina) 3

Olivier Giroud (France) 3

Bukayo Saka (England) 3

Richarlison (Brazil) 3

Bruno Fernandes (Portugal) 2

Medhi Taremi (Iran) 2 

Ferran Torres (Spain) 2

Breel Embolo (Switzerland) 2

Andrej Kramaric (Croatia) 2

Cho Gue-sung (South Korea) 2

Aleksandar Mitrovic (Serbia) 2

Mohammed Kudus (Ghana) 2

Salem Aldawsari (Saudi Arabia) 2

Ritsu Doan (Japan) 2

Niclas Fullkrug (Germany) 2

Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon) 2

Kai Havertz (Germany) 2

Rafael Leao (Portugal) 2

Giorgian de Arrascaeta (Uruguay) 2

Robert Lewandowski (Poland) 2

Julian Alvarez (Argentina) 2

Raheem Sterling (England) 1

Jude Bellingham (England) 1

Jack Grealish (England) 1 

Davy Klaassen (Netherlands) 1

Daley Blind (Netherlands) 1

Denzel Dumfries (Netherlands) 1

Gareth Bale (Wales) 1

Timothy Weah (USA) 1

Saleh Al Shehri (Saudi Arabia) 1

Craig Goodwin (Australia) 1

Adrien Rabiot (France) 1

Ilkay Gundogan (Germany) 1 

Takuma Asano (Japan) 1

Dani Olmo (Spain) 1

Marco Asensio (Spain) 1

Gavi (Spain) 1

Carlos Soler (Spain) 1

Michy Batshuayi (Belgium) 1

Rouzbeh Cheshmi (Iran) 1

Ramin Rezaeian (Iran) 1

Mohammed Muntari (Qatar) 1 

Boulaye Dia (Senegal) 1

Famara Diedhiou (Senegal) 1

Dusan Vlahovic (Serbia) 1

Bamba Dieng (Senegal) 1

Mitchell Duke (Australia) 1

Piotr Zielinski (Poland) 1

Andreas Christensen (Denmark) 1

Enzo Fernandez (Argentina) 1

Keysher Fuller (Costa Rica) 1

Zakaria Aboukhlal (Morocco) 1

Abdelhamid Sabiri (Morocco) 1

Marko Livaja (Croatia) 1

Lovro Majer (Croatia) 1

Alphonso Davies (Canada) 1

Jean-Charles Castelletto (Cameroon) 1

Maxim Choupo-Moting (Cameroon) 1

Strahinja Pavlovic (Serbia) 1

Sergej Milinkovic-Savic (Serbia) 1

Mohamed Salisu (Ghana) 1

Casemiro (Brazil) 1

Ismaila Sarr (Senegal) 1

Frenkie de Jong (Netherlands) 1

Moises Caicedo (Ecuador) 1

Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal) 1

Christian Pulisic (USA) 1

Phil Foden (England) 1

Wahbi Khazri (Tunisia) 1

Mathew Leckie (Australia) 1

Alexis Mac Allister (Argentina) 1

Henry Martin (Mexico) 1

Hakim Ziyech (Morocco) 1

Luis Chavez (Mexico) 1

Romain Saiss (Morocco) 1

Youssef En-Nesyri (Morocco) 1

Ao Tanaka (Japan) 1

Yeltsin Tejeda (Costa Rica) 1

Juan Pablo Vargas (Costa Rica) 1

Haji Wright (USA) 1

Memphis Depay (Netherlands) 1

Serge Gnabry (Germany) 1

Ricardo Horta (Portugal) 1

Kim Young-gwon (South Korea) 1

Hwang Hee-chan (South Korea) 1

Xherdan Shaqiri (Switzerland) 1

Remo Freuler (Switzerland) 1

Harry Kane (England) 1

Jordan Henderson (England) 1

Pepe (Portugal) 1

Raphael Guerreiro (Portugal) 1

Manuel Akanji (Switzerland) 1

Daizen Maeda (Japan) 1

Ivan Perisic (Croatia) 1

Vinicius Jr (Brazil) 1

Neymar (Brazil) 1

Lucas Paqueta (Brazil) 1

Paik Seung-ho (South Korea) 1

Related articles Qatar World Cup security deny entry to reporter with LGBTQ t-shirt on Gary Lineker shares what Harry Kane won't say after England beat Iran

Harry Kane won the Golden Boot in 2018. (Image: GETTY)

Past Winners

1930 – Guillermo Stábile (Argentina)

1934 – Oldřich Nejedlý (Czech)

1938 – Leônidas (Brazil)

1950 – Ademir (Brazil)

1954 –  Sándor Kocsis (Hungary)

1958 –  Just Fontaine (France)

1962 – Flórián Albert (Hungary), Valentin Ivanov (Soviet Union), Garrincha (Brazil), Vavá (Brazil). Dražan Jerković (Yogoslavia), Leonel Sánchez (Chile)

1966 – Eusébio (Portugal)

1970 – Gerd Müller (Germany)

1974 – Grzegorz Lato (Poland)

1978 – Mario Kempes (Argentina)

1982 – Paolo Rossi (Italy)

1986 –  Gary Lineker (England)

1990 – Salvatore Schillaci (Italy)

1994 – Oleg Salenko (Russia), Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria)

1998 – Davor Šuker (Croatia)

2002 – Ronaldo (Brazil)

2006 – Miroslav Klose (Germany)

2010 – Thomas Müller (Germany)

2014 – James Rodríguez (Colombia)

2018 – Harry Kane (England)

Related articles Rio Ferdinand makes bold statement over 'fabulous' Jude Bellingham Southgate 'fed up' despite England hammering Iran in World Cup Qatar World Cup security deny entry to reporter with LGBTQ t-shirt on

Ads Links by Easy Branches
Play online games for free at
Guest Post Services Domain Authority 66

ads by Easy Branches