Jagdeep Dhankhar elected India's 14th Vice President | The Former West Bengal Governor secured 528 votes while Opposition pick Margaret Alva who got 182 votes has lost.

Jagdeep Dhankhar elected India's 14th Vice President

Jagdeep Dhankhar elected India's 14th Vice President

  • By: newindianexpress.com
  • Views 2

All 11 Bilkis Bano rape convicts walk out of jail

Civilian, cop injured in two grenade blasts in Budgam district

Nitish to induct new ministers today, RJD may get speaker post

Mondal arrest: Bengal BJP told to raise graft cases to corner Mamata
Kashmir erupts in Tiranga fervour

NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar has been elected India's 14th Vice President on Saturday. He secured 528 votes. Opposition pick Margaret Alva who got 182 votes has lost.

Described as ‘Kisan-Putra (farmer’s son)’ by the BJP, Dhankhar had said that he had never thought that a person like him with a modest background” would get the opportunity to serve as the second highest Constitutional post.

“I was born in a farmer’s family. I had to walk around 6km to my school,” said Dhankhar, who recently quit as West Bengal Governor.

Around 93 per cent polling was recorded in the vice presidential election on Saturday, with more than 50 MPs not exercising their franchise.

Officials said of the total 780 MPs, as many as 725 MPs voted till 5 pm when the polling concluded.

The Trinamool Congress, which has 39 MPs, including 23 in Lok Sabha, had already announced its decision to abstain from the election.

However, two of its MPs -- Sisir Kumar Adhikari and Dibyendu Adhikari -- broke ranks and cast their ballots.

READ HERE | Jagdeep Dhankhar: From confrontations with Mamata to running for Vice-President's post

Polling to elect the next Vice President of India began at 10 am.

The counting of votes began at 6 pm.

With the ruling BJP having an absolute majority in the Lok Sabha and 91 members in the Rajya Sabha, Dhankhar has a clear edge over his rival.

He is likely to succeed incumbent M Venkaiah Naidu, whose tenure ends on August 10.

All MPs of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, including nominated members, are entitled to vote in the vice presidential election.

The two Houses of Parliament together have a sanctioned strength of 788 MPs, of which there are eight vacancies in the Upper House.

Ads Links by Easy Branches
Play online games for free at games.easybranches.com
Guest Post Services Domain Authority 66 www.easybranches.com/contribute

ads by Easy Branches